A Single Woman’s Space

Sometimes there is too much, and sometimes too little

Y.L. Wolfe
6 min readAug 20, 2021

--

Photo by Baraa Jalahej from Pexels

“I wanted to reach out, but I’m also trying to give you space. I want to respect your needs.”

I read the text over and over. I don’t understand.

We haven’t really spoken in months. Not since the “last” talk. He has hardly said a word to me since then.

I have said nothing.

My silence has little to do with my anger or the hurt I feel over the way things ended. My silence is merely the product of my resignation. There is no point in saying anything. No point in arguing. No point in sharing my feelings. No point in asking him to understand me.

I am old enough to know that a man walking out the door will keep walking no matter what you do or say.

So I have said nothing. I have remained silent. If he hasn’t sought to understand me and forge a sense of peace between us, he never will.

Though I remain puzzled by his words. I’m tempted to respond.

Did I ask him for space? Did I ask him for anything?

More importantly: Did he ask me what I needed?

I cannot help but feel that he’s not giving me space, at all. No, he’s taking space. Because that’s the easiest option.

--

--

Y.L. Wolfe

Gender-curious, solosexual, perimenopausal, childless crone-in-training. | Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/gleDcD | Email: welcome@yaelwolfe.com